Greenhouses

smallholding dreams

GreenhousesI love my greenhouses. I love the smell of the tomatoes as they ripen – it reminds me of my grandma and grandad’s old wooden greenhouse and the contentment of sitting there eating tomatoes by the handful and watching my grandad sort out his plants. I love the fact that they mean I can grow cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers and tomatillos. I try and grow aubergines, but although they flower the fruit always rots and drops off which is crushingly disappointing.tomatoes in green houses

Our friend Lakshmi helped build one of the greenhouses and working in them always reminds me of her. Thanks to Juliet helping me to clear out and plant one of the greenhouses earlier in the year I now have tomatoes and cucumbers to feast on.cucmberstomatoes

I love cucumbers and in the summer I get to eat one everyday for lunch. I also pickle them, but pickling has to wait…

View original post 90 more words

Leave a Reply

