Looks like Meat’s Back on the Menu, Boys!

The Witch and the Warrior

As a child, I remember butchering day very well. My mother would close all the curtains in the house and we wouldn’t see her again until that evening. I started “helping” with the butchering as early as I can remember, although I’m sure I wasn’t much help at all! Growing up this way, I learned where my food came from. In later years, I would be surprised that people were repulsed by the idea of butchering an animal they had raised, or butchering at all for that matter. For folks that didn’t grow up seeing where their food came from, I guessed it was just easier to buy that nameless, plump chicken at the grocery store.

Rinsing a beautiful chicken carcass in cold water. Rinsing a beautiful chicken carcass in cold water.

When we decided to start raising chickens again, one of the biggest things we looked forward to was the fresh meat. Homegrown chicken has more taste…

View original post 835 more words

Leave a Reply

